Black and White or Not?

 

OR

 

 

30 thoughts on “Black and White or Not?

  1. Nice shot! I’d keep both if you’ll ask me. I also encounter this kind of question in my photos and this is where my ‘story behind the scene’ helps me. If I frame my story around the sad/closed door mood, I’d use the b&w; and if I’ll talk about a warm, lovely respite at the backyard, I’ll use the colored version. The treatment supports the story this way. But both versions are good if I don’t want to include text in my post/display and the choice will now depend on the personal style I want to establish. Regards. πŸ™‚

  2. I guess it depends on what is behind the door.. for some reason when I first saw the photo I thought of a tomb, in which case the black and white would be my choice.. of course, if it is a house with a happy family inside, the color would be nicer.

  3. I like both of them. The composition is fantastic!
    But I prefer the color, because the wall, door, greenery , stone, and flowers are so deeply saturated in color. I think it depends on the mood you want your photo to present. If you want a moody, dark photo….go with the B&W. If you want vibrant color, go with the color photo. Ultimately it’s your choice. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for sharing!

  4. I’d have to go with the color one. I tend to even lean towards b&w, but the colors in the color one are so beautiful, and they really compliment the architecture. If you went with the b&w one, I would probably try to bring out more of the details in the shadow of the door. Both are lovely, though!

  5. Great image. I love the texture of the wall, the white border, and then the wood pattern in the door. I think these are lost a little in the black and white. For this particular image, I like the color better. If I were going to use the black and white, I’d increase the contrast and the texture if possible. Or conversely, many have remarked that the b and w has a sad look to it. You could emphasize that by softening the black and white, decrease the contrast and texture and add some blur. That would look very nice. But overall both versions of the image are very nice.

  6. I like both photos. The b&w is gothic, and the color is house and garden! Nice…
    A quick thank you for signing up to follow my blog! I hope that I will entertain you!

  7. Call me provincial, but I like the color image better. To me B&W is best suited for gritty urban shots or when a scene has bad lighting and/or colors in it.
    Having said that, I now bracing myself for a group of Ansel Adams followers to show up at my door with torches and pitchforks.

Leave a Reply

